After Alisson Becker in 2019 and Gianluigi Donnarumma in 2021, the Yachin Trophy has been awarded to another goalkeeper for the 2021/2022 season.

Thibaut Courtois, who has been imperial in goal for Real Madrid and guided them to the Champions League title with an iron glove, has just received the award for the best goalkeeper of the season. The Bree native also won the La Liga title this season and the European Supercup, and his record of 22 clean sheets in 52 matches and only 46 goals conceded is still impressive.

The Belgian, who finished eighth in 2021 and was not named in 2019, finished ahead of Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Yassine Bounou (Sevilla FC), Ederson Moraes (Manchester City), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Mike Maignan (AC Milan), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid) and Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt). A great reward for a great 2021/2022 season from Thibaut Courtois.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *